Baby Winter Knitting Ideas

 

I have two month old twin boys but because we live in Singapore I don’t get much opportunity to knit clothes for them. I have knit a few instant gratification soft toys for them and am knitting my second baby blanket out of a hemp / cotton mix yarn (more on these in a later post). But now I finally have a great excuse to knit them something toasty – we are off to the UK for two weeks in January.

The poor boys aren’t going to know what’s hit them – they no doubt think it’s 32 degrees everywhere all year round. It seems very indulgent to knit something that they will only be able to wear for two weeks but the temptation to make them each something is too strong to resist.

Now, the only problem is what to knit. Something stash-busting of course, I stocked up on Debbie Bliss baby cashmerino before they were born so I definitely have enough to make a couple of baby jumpers, or this could be a great opportunity to use some of my single skeins of Koigu or Hazel Knits sock yarn. I have spent a couple of nights searching for ideas on Ravelry and found some good possibilities but need some more inspiration – I have just rediscovered this post on whipup.net. There are lots of great potentials here – grouped as pullovers, vests, kimono style, jackets & cardigans – including this great little classic stripey number above.

Will this be a case of too much choice? I think I need to put a time limit on my search and make a decision before I eat into too much of my knitting time. I have six weeks to complete the projects.

About Holly Gage

I am a Brit living and working in Singapore. I'm also a bit of a craft magpie - my yarn stash moved to Singapore with me and has continued to expand, despite the lack of need for wool in the tropics! I've just taken up sewing recently and have found that as with knitting the joy starts with the raw materials - so I have built up a fabric stash now as well, to keep the yarn company. This blog is a record of my attempts to turn some of this stash into something more tangible.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment